We will help you learn and grow

Meet our Tutors

Sage Reading Tutors are credentialed instructors who assess and create individualized reading plans. Our goal is to help students to read at grade level and build their academic confidence.

Jacklynn Rivera

Hello! My name is Jacklynn. I was born in Puerto Rico, but have lived in Florida for the majority of my life. I currently live in Georgia with my fiance. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Forensic Science, and recently got accepted into the University of Florida’s Master’s program in Edu- cation. I am currently a teacher working with special education students, and have worked primarily in special education for six years now. I worked as a behavior technician for students with autism for three years. I have been trained in the PCI program, and Fundations for Reading Intervention. I am very creative in the way I implement the intervention programs. My goal for my students is to not be so afraid of reading. When I’m not teaching, I enjoy planning in my Happy Planner, playing with my dog, Sinatra, going hiking with my fiance, and watching a variety of YouTube crafting videos. I look forward to working with your student!

Jen Camp

Hello! My name is Jen. I am originally from Chicago, but my family and I have just relocated to a quiet little town in Madison County, Iowa, in a historic home where we are reopening a Bed and Breakfast. I have been teaching for seventeen years between two school districts in Chicagoland. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Early Childhood Education. In addition to my BA, I completed my MA in Instruction and Curriculum. Having a great desire to learn more, I most recently completed an endorsement in Special Education. I have spent the past 17 years specializing in Early Childhood Education. I have many years of experience in working with students who have special needs, as well as English Language learners. I have been trained to implement reading intervention using an Orton-Gillingham approach with programs such as Wilson, which has lead to my love for helping struggling readers and my commitment to helping them be successful. When I am not teaching, I enjoy spending time with my 2 children and my husband, reading, camping, doing outdoor activities and repurposing furniture. I look forward to getting to know you and your child, and helping you both be successful in your education adventure.

Mary Pitt

Hello! My name is Mary. I am a Florida native who recently moved back to Odessa, Florida after having lived the past 11 years in San Antonio, Texas. I have a Bachelor’s degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders from the University of South Florida, and a Master’s degree in Applied Behavior Analysis with an Emphasis in Autism, from Ball State University. I have a total of 13 years of teaching experience between Texas and Florida. I worked as a speech therapist in Texas for 11 years, branching out into behaviorism, and i still hold a valid speech therapy license. I hold a teaching license in Florida in exceptional student education, as well as an add on endorse- ment for students with autism. I’m currently pursuing my reading endorsement. When I am not working with students, you can commonly find me with my husband and with our two sons, who both have Down Syndrome. We enjoy going to Disney World, to the beach, and on walks with our dogs.

Mary Spademan

Hi! My name is Mary. I live in Michigan with my husband and three children. We have lived here for 20 years but I am a citizen of both the United States and Canada and I have lived in both countries. I have been teaching for over 25 years. I went to the Johns Hopkins University in Balti- more, Maryland for both my Bachelor’s and my Master’s degrees in music. Since then, I have taught private music lessons and classes to students of all ages. I also taught at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada. Above all things, however, I am a mom. And, as a mom, I have worked hard to navigate the winding path of raising a child faced with significant learning challenges. Having a child with Asperger Syndrome, Tourette’s Disorder, OCD, ODD, and Sensory Integration Disorder made getting him through school without falling through the cracks a fulltime job. My husband and I became experts in the IEP and 504 process and later put this experience to good use as advocates, working with parents and students who have also found themselves on this road. Much of these experiences have influenced the direction of my professional life. As a result, I have done graduate work in English and in Teaching. Along the way I became certified in teaching English as a foreign language (TEFL). I have worked as a Special Education Tutor focusing on reading and comprehension as well as teaching English as a second language. When I am not teaching, I love spending time with my family, playing the flute and piano, watching hockey, and learning to speak Irish. I can’t wait to meet you!

Melissa Klayton

Hello! My name is Melissa. I have lived in the beautiful Clearwater Beach area of Florida for 17 years since relocating here from my hometown just west of Boston, Massachusetts. I have taught for more than 10 years combined in both Massachusetts and Florida. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Education and History from Brandeis University in Waltham, MA. In addition to my BA, I earned my Massachusetts Professional Teacher’s Certificate in Grades K-6, along with a certification in Early Childhood Education form the Massachusetts Office for Children (Infant through Pre-K). I later went on to earn my Professional Teacher’s Certification in Elementary Education from the state of Florida in 2015. I have spent the past 5 years specializing in literacy/reading intervention and have acquired additional professional development in teaching strategies for Music & Movement, Reading, English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), and Exceptional Student/Special Education. When I am not studying or working, I love being outdoors at the parks and beaches, singing, doing yoga, traveling, and having fun with my husband of 20 years, my 11-year-old son, our cat, PB, and our dog, Bae. I look forward to learning all about you and to helping you achieve your greatest potential!

Kitty Krause

Hi! My name is Kitty. I live in Naples, Florida with my daughter and my granddaughter. I moved here 20 years ago, from Connecticut. I received my Bachelor of Science Degree in Elementary Education from the University of South Florida. I have worked in both public and private schools over the last 12 years. I have mainly worked with students with learning struggles, as both a self-contained and inclusion teacher. I have also been an advocate for students with special needs for over 30 years while raising my son who has Asperger’s Syndrome and an Auditory Processing issue.

I enjoy helping my students find a way that works for them when they are learning and helping them learn to advocate for themselves, in the classroom, and in the world. In my free time, I
enjoy reading, crocheting, relaxing outside on the dock to the lake, and spending time with my granddaughter.

I am looking forward to having the opportunity to meet your child and help them learn and be
more confident!

Jessica Bullman

Hello! My name is Jessica. I currently live in the upstate of South Carolina. I have been teaching for 6 years, both in a physical classroom and an online classroom. I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Comprehensive Special Education. In addition to my BA in education, I have earned my Professional Teacher’s Certi cate through the state of South Carolina. I am certified in all areas of special education (intellectual disabilities, emotional disabilities, and learning disabilities). I also have an elementary add-on included with my certificate. I taught in a self-contained special education classroom for 4 years and I have been teaching online for the last 3 years. When I am not working, I enjoy spending time with my family, playing with my children, or visiting new places!  I look forward to working with your child and helping them reach their goals!